NCRC Staff & Board

John Taylor, President & Founder
Jesse Van Tol, Chief Executive Officer
Alice Bodley, Chief Operating Officer & Chief Legal Officer
Andrew Nachison, Chief Communications & Marketing Officer
Dedrick Asante-Muhammad, Chief, Race, Wealth and Community
Edward J. Gorman, Chief of Community Development
Eleni Delimpaltadaki Janis, Chief, Capital Markets
James Lum, Chief Financial Officer
Jenn Jones, Chief, Membership and Policy
Brad Blower, General Counsel
Marisa Calderon, Executive Director, Community Development Fund

Adam Rust, Senior Policy Advisor
Alyssa Wiltse, Media Manager, Communications
Amanda Palmer, Special Assistant and Chief of Communications for the Office of the President
Anneliese Lederer, Director, Fair Lending and Consumer Protection
Bob Hassinger, Coordinator, Workforce Development
Blen Tilahun, Staff Accountant
Bruce Mitchell, PhD, Senior Analyst, Research & Evaluation
Caitlin Rountree, Director, Membership and Events
Chloe Sabharwal, Conference and Events Manager
Cypriana Hicklen, Grant Accountant, Finance
Daria Brunet, Director of Operations, GROWTH
Dotun Akinsade, Manager, Accounting
Emma Stevens, Operations Coordinator
Gerron Levi,  Senior Director, Government Affairs
Heidi Sheppard, Project Director, DC Women’s Business Center 
Ibijoke Akinbowale, Director, Housing Counseling Network
Jad Edlebi, GIS Specialist, Research
Jake Lilien, Compliance Program Manager
Jamie Buell, Racial Economic Equality Coordinator
Jasmine Brewer, Program Manager, Housing Counseling Network
Jason Richardson, Director, Research & Evaluation
Jerry Kellman, Senior Advisor, Organizing
Joseph Reed, Senior Advocate, Policy and Government Affairs
Josh Silver, Senior Advisor, Policy 
Karen Kali, Senior Program Manager, Special Initiatives
Kevin Davenport, Senior Advisor for Coalitions and Campaigns
Kevin Hill, Community Reinvestment Act Manager
Kevin Sall, Director, Information Technology
Luis Ortiz, Regional Coordinator, Housing Counseling Network
Magdalena Mysliwiec, Membership Engagement Specialist
Maria Georgieva, Digital Manager/CRM Lead
Marice Fernando, Membership Engagement Manager
Monica Grover, Special Assistant to the Chief of Race, Wealth and Community
Monti Taylor, Resource Coordinator, DCWBC
NanaYaa Owusu, Special Assistant to the CEO
Nicole Chapins, Controller/Office Manager, Capital Markets
Nsonye Anarado, Training Manager, National Training Academy
Peter Osunde, Development Associate
Phil York, Development Manager
Richie Lynch, Graphic Designer and Publications Manager, Communications
Rosemary Ramirez, Senior Program Manager
Sabrina Terry, Director, Strategic Initiatives and Development
Sade McKoy, Communications Specialist, DC Women’s Business Center
Sara Oros, Program Coordinator, Fair Housing/Fair Lending
Sonya Bryant, Legal Analyst & Special Assistant
Tamara Rasberry, Director, Human Resources & Operations
Tom Feltner, Director of Policy
Tracy McCracken, Director, Fair Housing
Xi Rotmil, Marketing Manager/UX Lead
Zo Amani, CRA Coordinator

NCRC Board

Robert Dickerson, Jr., NCRC Chairperson
Executive Director
Birmingham Business Resource Center
Birmingham, AL

Ernest Hogan, NCRC Vice Chairperson
Executive Director
Pittsburgh Community Reinvestment Group
Pittsburgh, PA

Jean Ishmon, NCRC Vice Chairperson
Consulting Executive Director
Northwest Indiana Reinvestment Alliance
Hammond, IN

Catherine Hope Crosby, NCRC Secretary
Chief of Staff
Mayor’s Office
Toledo, OH

Ernest (Gene) E. Ortega, NCRC Treasurer
Rural Housing, Inc.
Albuquerque, NM

Bethany Sanchez, NCRC Immediate Past Chairperson
Director, Fair Lending
Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council
Milwaukee, WI

Aaron Miripol
Urban Land Conservancy
Denver, CO

Andreanecia Morris
Executive Director
New Orleans, LA

Arden Shank
Board Chair
Community Reinvestment Alliance of South Florida
Miami, FL

Beverly Watts
Executive Director
Tennessee Human Rights Commission
Nashville, TN

Brent Kakesako
Executive Director
Hawaii Alliance for Community-Based Economic Development (HACBED)
Honolulu, HI

Carol Johnson
Director of Civil Rights
State of Oregon
Portland, OR

Charles Harris
Executive Director
Housing Education and Economic Development
Jackson, MS

David Adame
President and CEO
Chicanos Por La Causa, Inc.
Phoenix, AZ

Elisabeth Risch
Director of Research and Education
Metropolitan St. Louis Equal Housing and Opportunity Council
St. Louis, MO

Gilbert T. Bland
President and CEO
Urban League of Hampton Roads
Norfork, VA

Irvin Henderson
National Trust for Historic Preservation
Henderson, NC

Kevin Stein
Associate Director
California Reinvestment Coalition
San Francisco, CA

Marceline White
Executive Director
Maryland Consumer Rights Coalition
Baltimore, MD

Matt Hull
Executive Director
Texas Association of Community Development  Corporation
Austin, TX

Matthew Lee
Executive Director
Inner City Press
Bronx, NY

Moises Loza
Executive Director (retired)
Housing Assistance Council
Washington, DC

Peter Hainley
Executive Director
CASA of Oregon
Sherwood, OR

Sharon H. Lee
Executive Director
Low Income Housing Institute
Seattle, WA

Will Gonzalez
Executive Director
Philadelphia, PA

Redlining and Neighborhood Health

Before the pandemic devastated minority communities, banks and government officials starved them of capital.

Lower-income and minority neighborhoods that were intentionally cut off from lending and investment decades ago today suffer not only from reduced wealth and greater poverty, but from lower life expectancy and higher prevalence of chronic diseases that are risk factors for poor outcomes from COVID-19, a new study shows.

The new study, from the National Community Reinvestment Coalition (NCRC) with researchers from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health and the University of Richmond’s Digital Scholarship Lab, compared 1930’s maps of government-sanctioned lending discrimination zones with current census and public health data.

Table of Content

  • Executive Summary
  • Introduction
  • Redlining, the HOLC Maps and Segregation
  • Segregation, Public Health and COVID-19
  • Methods
  • Results
  • Discussion
  • Conclusion and Policy Recommendations
  • Citations
  • Appendix

Complete the form to download the full report: